3 Reasons Why You Stopped Hitting The Gym

gym-weights-wallpapercooking-crafts-and-fitness--august-2012-hochw9af

You got the gym membership, you got the new shoes, made the awesome playlist, you went for a week or two, and that was it. I see a lot of people have epiphany’s all of sudden wanting to get in shape but they don’t follow through. So why is there all this gym hype but no muscle being built and no calories being burnt? I believe the reasons people stop hitting the gym are because they either get discouraged by everyone that’s already in shape, they don’t see progress fast enough, or they simply just lack motivation. If you’re one the many who started working out only to quit a couple days later, let’s find out why and start getting in shape for real this time.

You get ready for the gym, you walk in ready to kick ass, and all of a sudden you feel unmotivated and kinda discouraged by everyone in there. It happened to me when I started and I think it’s a very common gym problem.

For me it’s always been about gaining weight, losing the spaghetti arms, and being able to fill in shirts. While today I’m proud to say I’ve gotten bigger and filling in clothes better I haven’t forgotten what it’s like to start hitting the gym. I remember struggling when it came to curling 15 pound dumbbells or not being able to bench press a fourth of what all these huge dudes were lifting,and just wanting to quit. It’s a shitty feeling realizing how much weaker we are than these people but we can never forget that the dude benching three plates and the chick with the perfectly toned legs started out just like you and didn’t get there by quitting. I started to realize that these people should be used as inspiration and not discouragement. You can’t get all negative and upset with yourself because you need to realize everyone was a beginner at one point; no one is a pro from day one. Also realize that pushing yourself to your limits is the same thing as the ripped dude or girl hitting their limits. No guy gets swole in one day and no girl get’s the perfect body in one day either, remember that.

BOOM! The first day you leave the gym drenched in sweat and can barely walk. The second day you do the same and you feel on top the world but a couple days later you’re walking out earlier and not feeling that same pump. Without motivation getting in shape is very hard to accomplish.

We all naturally start something with the end in sight, and in order to successfully get where we want be physically it is absolutely necessary that we do this. Everyday when you get to the gym you have to know exactly what you want to get from it. It’s entirely up to you how intense it will be and how well you use your time there. Either you walk on the treadmill while texting your buddies or you push yourself to your limits and get it done. What always works for me is envisioning everything that I’m going to do when  I’m at the gym throughout the whole day. I prepare myself mentally everyday before I hit the gym, I know what I’m going to do. When I’m getting near my last minutes of cardio or have 3 reps left I remind myself how bad I want these results, and how this is only getting me closer to them. Whether it’s looking at pictures of fitness models, watching YouTube videos, or keeping a chart of the progress your’re making, it is imperative that you find a source of motivation. Those weights aren’t going to lift themselves.

“Bro, I’ve been hitting the gym for a whole month and I don’t see results, wtf.” You know you’ve heard this or said it before, and I don’t blame you. We start working out because we’re not happy with how we look and we want change NOW. You jog 6 miles a day or lift weights for 2 hours everyday for a whole month and you see no results. It’s understandable that this could be annoying and make us want to quit but if you get past this stage I doubt you’ll ever stop working out. Once I started seeing results I gained a huge a boost of confidence and motivation. I felt like if I didn’t go the gym all the hard work I put in to get here would be wasted. When it comes to fitness you need to realize that results won’t come fast, but if you keep working hard they will without a doubt come. I can’t tell you how long it will take to see them, but always keep in mind “anything easy to accomplish is probably not worth much.”

Thanks for reading and if you enjoyed this share it with your friends!

-And If you want…
Follow the blog on twitter @YoungWiseLiving
Or Follow my instagram @Young_Sir_Thomas
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “3 Reasons Why You Stopped Hitting The Gym

  1. […] 3 Reasons You Stopped Hitting The Gym (youngandwiseliving.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] I said in my post 3 Reasons Why You Stopped Hitting The Gym, without motivation working out is not very fun. In order for us to be working out everyday we have […]

Leave a Reply

